St. Louis: Motocross Star Ryan Villopoto Extends Championship Lead, Justin Barcia Continues to Roll in Lites Class


The defending Supercross Champion just hit the halfway mark in the season. And he’s showing no signs of giving up his title.

It only took Oakley’s Motocross Star, Ryan Villopoto, two laps to establish his dominance in St. Louis this past weekend – smoking the field for the victory and extending his lead in the overall Championship standings by 13 points.

It was fellow O smasher, Davi Millsaps, who would blast into the Holeshot, however, before being edged by RV shortly after.

Fast forward to Lap 14, and RV found his most dangerous challenge – as fellow O star, Ryan Dungey, battled his way to the front of the pack – passing Justin Brayton for the second spot.

RD closed the gap on RV at the tail end of the race, but he fended off the 2010 Supercross Champ successfully to cross the checkered with yet another triumph.

But while Villopoto has been digging in through the 450 season, another budding Oakley star has been owning his own side of Supercross.

O’s Justin Barcia has swept through the last few rounds as the man in the Lites East series – emphatically taking the last three stops to extend his own lead in the title race.

St. Louis was a prime display of his intent to snatch the trophy at end of the season.

There was no other leader in the Lites Main, as Justin lead the way all 15 laps with few close to challenge (aside from Ken Roczen and Justin Bogle). But any efforts to overtake him would be for not, as he’d take the win and would effectively push his series lead to 18 points.

2012 Monster Energy AMA Supercross

St. Louis, MO
Supercross Lites Heat 1
1. Justin Barcia
2. Darryn Durham
3. Blake Baggett
4. Phil Nicoletti
5. PJ Larsen
6. Austin Politelli
7. Malcolm Stewart
8. AJ Catanzaro
9. Bradley Ripple

Supercross Lites Heat 2
1. Blake Wharton
2. Justin Bogle
3. Jake Canada
4. Ken Roczen
5. Alex Martin
6. Matt Lemoine
7. Kyle Cunningham
8. Jeff Gibson
9. Cole Thompson

Supercross Heat 1
1. James Stewart
2. Cole Seely
3. Ryan Dungey
4. Brett Metcalfe
5. Broc Tickle
6. Marvin Musquin
7. Jimmy Albertson
8. Matt Goerke
9. Kyle Chisholm

Supercross Heat 2
1. Ryan Villopoto
2. Justin Brayton
3. Jake Weimer
4. Davi Millsaps
5. Kevin Windham
6. Mike Alessi
7. Josh Hansen
8. Robert Kiniry
9. Justin Sipes

Supercross Lites LCQ
1. Hunter Hewitt
2. Tyler Bowers

Supercross LCQ
1. Nick Wey
2. Gavin Faith
Supercross Lites Main Event
1. Justin Barcia (Honda)
2. Ken Roczen (KTM)
3. Blake Wharton (Suzuki)
4. Darryn Durham (Kawasaki)
5. Justin Bogle (Honda)
6. Jake Canada (Honda)
7. Malcolm Stewart (KTM)
8. Kyle Cunningham (Yamaha)
9. Blake Baggett (Kawasaki)
10. Alex Martin (Honda)
11. Matt Lemoine (Kawasaki)
12. Hunter Hewitt (Suzuki)
13. Cole Thompson (Honda)
14. AJ Catanzaro (KTM)
15. Jeff Gibson (Honda)
16. Austin Politelli (Honda)
17. PJ Larsen (KTM)
18. Bradley Ripple (Honda)
19. Phil Nicoletti (Honda)
20. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki)

Supercross Main Event
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
3. Justin Brayton (Honda)
4. Kevin Windham (Honda)
5. James Stewart (Yamaha)
6. Davi Millsaps (Yamaha)
7. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
8. Brett Metcalfe (Suzuki)
9. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
10. Nick Wey (Kawasaki)
11. Broc Tickle (Kawasaki)
12. Matt Goerke (Suzuki)
13. Mike Alessi (Suzuki)
14. Robert Kiniry (Yamaha)
15. Justin Sipes (Kawasaki)
16. Kyle Chisholm (Kawasaki)
17. Gavin Faith (Honda)
18. Jimmy Albertson (Suzuki)
19. Cole Seely (Honda)
20. Josh Hansen (Kawasaki)

Supercross Lites East Point Standings
1. Justin Barcia 75
2. Ken Roczen 57
3. Darryn Durham 56
4. Blake Wharton 56
5. Justin Bogle 43
6. Jake Canada 41
7. Blake Baggett 40
8. Hunter Hewitt 31
9. Malcolm Stewart 29
10. Kyle Cunningham 28

Supercross Point Standings
1. Ryan Villopoto 205
2. Ryan Dungey 192
3. James Stewart 152
4. Chad Reed 128
5. Kevin Windham 123
6. Jake Weimer 120
7. Justin Brayton 116
8. Brett Metcalfe 113
9. Davi Millsaps 109
10. Mike Alessi 98


Andrew De Lara


March 06, 2012

Related Photos